Chiefs palaces of Kotoku

Thumbnail Image
Journal Title
Journal ISSN
Volume Title
Akim Kotoku was one of the three military organizations – Akim Abuakwa, Akim kotoku and Akim Bosome, each known as ‘oman’ or native state, which were formed in order to counteract the raids of the Ashantis. Each of them was ruled by Omanhene. An ‘oman’ is a confederation or groups of people attached to stools – Thus Oda is a member of ‘oman’, Akim Kotoku. The organisation of the akim kotoku oman was as follows – Every town or stool joining an oman was allotted a position in or other of the five groups of battle formation (i) Nifahene – commander of the right wing of the army and political head of those towns whose warriors fought in that wing. (ii) Benkumhene – commander of the left wing and political head of the towns fighting in that wing. (iii) Adontehene – commander of the central body of the army and political head of the towns in that section. Also head of the civil affairs of Oda town as district from oman affairs of which omanhene is head. (iv) Gyasehene – commander of that section of the army which includes the omanhene and his stool. Political head of the towns fighting in that section. The Gyase had three sections; the Gyase proper, Ankobea or out-post guards and Kyidom on rear-guard. The above ‘Ahenfo’ are of equal rank. Twafohene – commander of the Twafo, an advance guard of scouts forming a sub division of the Adonten; Political head of those towns fighting in the Twafo. Those towns approach the Adontenhene through the Twafohene. Political head of those towns fighting in the Ankobea. Those towns approach the Gyasehene through Ankobeahene. Kyidomhene – commander of Kyidom, one of the three sub-divisions of Gyase section. Those towns approach the Gyasehene only through Kyidomhene. Dabehene – Lord of the Omanhene’s sleeping room and leader of sub-division of the fighting force. Political head of some of the towns serving in the Ankobea sub-division of the Gyase section. These approach the Gyasehene through the Dabehene.
A thesis presented to the Faculty of Architecture University of Science and Technology, Kumasi in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the Degree of Master of Science in Architecture, 1967